Freedom

I want so badly for my children, and for their children, and so on, to experience the peace that I felt existed in the world while I was growing up. I believe in God and trust that He is still in control, even as the madness rages on all around us. But still, I’m inclined to pray for His protection over us, for His guidance, and for His mercy. Even more so, as evil creeps closer to our doorstep.

I don’t know how to pray for those that attack us. I pray to understand them better and to not fear what they can do to us and are doing to others. Any terror they inflict upon us or our nation will only be temporary. If God is allowing it, then it must be in His plan that I believe to be perfect in all ways, according to His will. (Although) that doesn’t bring a whole lot of comfort to me. I question myself and the intelligence it takes (on my part) to bring innocent children into this world: into this fight. Perhaps our children being born are needed to balance the scales of good and bad.

Tell me this; is there any good in a man who hates good and rejoices while committing acts of sin? Has he or she already given their soul up to the devil? Who or what do they worship? Surely this is not the same God I worship. His word does not tell me to commit horrific acts of violence against mankind. His word does not condone what terrorists claim will bring pleasure to their god.

At times I feel so ignorant. I feel helpless. I fear I will pass away in the midst of the wars raging on (worse than they are). I fear that I will leave my children in the mess and chaos – that they will have to fight to their death for the freedoms I have always taken for granted. I thought veterans of previous wars already paid the price and paved the road to freedom for us – but here we are again – as a nation, fighting to restore our peace.

Fight. Peace.

Somehow, those two words don’t sound right side by side. However, I don’t see the alternative to fighting if we are to protect and maintain our peace and freedom. But in order to stop terrorism, must we become terrorists (on some level) ourselves?

I am certain of this, more than ever, that my peace and freedom can only be found in my Lord and Savior, Jesus Christ. I can only pray now, God, silence my fears, and let my hope be in You and You alone. I don’t need to have it all figured out – I already know how this ends. Regardless of the road ahead of me, You have prepared a place for me in eternity with You, and nothing can separate me from You; not man, not war, not even death. freedom-cage1

9 You whom I have taken from the ends of the earth, And called from its remotest parts And said to you, ‘You are My servant, I have chosen you and not rejected you. 10 ‘Do not fear, for I am with you; Do not anxiously look about you, for I am your God. I will strengthen you, surely I will help you, Surely I will uphold you with My righteous right hand.’ 11 “Behold, all those who are angered at you will be shamed and dishonored; Those who contend with you will be as nothing and will perish.… Isaiah 41:9-11

Leave a Reply

